77% voter turnout in Bypoll at the Marwahi Assembly headquarters in Chhattisgarh


No adverse incidents were reported in the constituency during the ballot (representation)


A high turnout of 77% was recorded in the peaceful assembly district of Marwahi in Chhattisgarh on Tuesday, a poll official said in Raipur.

The voting percentage was until 6 p.m., the official polling deadline, he said.

However, the final turnout could increase as many voters, mainly those infected with COVID-19, were still in the premises of some polling stations to vote even after the end of the official voting time, a- he declared.

The derogation for the seat reserved for the candidates of the Listed Tribe (ST), which belongs to the new district of GaurelaPendra Marwahi, became necessary after the death of Janata Congress MP Chhattisgarh (J) and former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi May 29.

Eight candidates are in the fray.

“Voting began at 8 a.m. against a backdrop of heightened security and with COVID-19 protocols in place. After the 6 p.m. voting deadline ended, approximately 77% voter turnout was recorded at headquarters of Marwahi, ”the official said.

No untoward incidents were reported in the constituency during the poll, the official said.

In the 2018 Assembly election, the constituency recorded a turnout of 81.15%.

A total of 191,004 voters were eligible to vote, including 93,735 men, 97,265 women and four of the third sex.

No less than 286 polling stations were installed, of which 126 were classified as sensitive, the official said.

The results of the bypoll will be announced on November 10.

The siege, a stronghold of the Jogi family for several years now, has witnessed a direct fight between Congress and the BJP after nomination papers for Amit Jogi, Ajit Jogi’s son, and his wife Richa were released. were rejected by the returning officer, who said their caste certificates were not valid.

The Congress introduced Dr K K Dhruw, a former physician from the region, while Dr Gambheer Singh, an ex-professor from Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Medical College, Raipur, is the candidate of the BJP.

The strength of the Chhattisgarh Assembly is 90.

The other candidates in the fray are Ritu Pandram from the Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP), Dr Urmila Singh Marko from the Rashtriya Gondwana Party, Pushpa Khelan Korche from the Ambedkarite Party of India, Beersingh Nagesh from the Bharatiya Tribal Party, Lakshman Porte du Bharatiya Hit Sjajan Party and independent Sonmati Salam.

In 2018 Assembly polls, Ajit Jogi garnered 74,041 votes in Marwahi, beating the BJP’s Archana Porte by a margin of 46,462 votes, with Congress coming third.

(This story was not edited by GalacticGaming staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here