The 4 Indo-American Democratic lawmakers of the “ Samosa Caucus ” are re-elected


Raja Krishnamoorthi coined the informal term “samosa caucus” for Indo-American lawmakers


In an awe-inspiring spectacle, the four Indo-American Democratic lawmakers – Dr Ami Bera, Pramila Jayapal, Ro Khanna and Raja Krishnamoorthi – were re-elected to the US House of Representatives.

The Indo-American community has become a force to be reckoned with for the first time in the history of the US presidential election. The Democratic and Republican campaigns had launched several measures to woo the estimated 1.8 million community members who have become a critical electoral bloc in the battlefield states of Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas .

The so-called “ Samosa caucus, ” a name coined by Raja Krishnamoorthi for an informal grouping of Indo-American lawmakers, could expand with at least one other as doctor Dr Hiral Tipirneni leading against outgoing Republican David Schweikert from Arizona’s Sixth Congressional District when the last reports arrived.

If elected, Hiral Tipirneni, 52, would be the second Native American woman to be elected to the House of Representatives. Jayapal, 55, was the first Native American woman to be elected to the House of Representatives in 2016.

The “ Samosa Caucus ” currently includes five Indo-American lawmakers, including the four members of the House of Representatives and Senator and Democratic vice presidential candidate Kamala Harris, 56.

Raja Krishnamoorthi, 47, easily beat Preston Nelson, 30, of the Libertarian Party. In the last reports, he represented nearly 71% of the total votes counted.

Ro Khanna, 44, easily beat fellow Indo-American Ritesh Tandon, 48, of the Republican Party by a margin of more than 50 percentage points. It was his third consecutive victory in the 17th Congressional District of California.


Dr. Ami Bera, 55, the oldest member of the “Samosa Caucus,” won California’s seventh congressional district for the fifth consecutive term. When the last report came out, he had established an unreachable lead of more than 25 percentage points over Republican rival Buzz Patterson, 65.

Meanwhile, Democratic candidate Sri Preston Kulkarni, 42, lost to Republican rival Troy Nehls, 52, a popular sheriff and military veteran endorsed by President Donald Trump in the 22nd Congressional District of Texas.

Republican Manga Anantatmula lost to Democratic President Gerry Connolly in Virginia’s 11th Congressional District. Republican Nisha Sharma of the Republican Party also lost her first attempt in Congress. She was beaten by incumbent Mark DeSaulnier of the Democratic Party by more than 50 percentage points.

The House of Representatives is the lower house of the US Congress, the Senate being the upper house.

(Except for the title, this story was not edited by GalacticGaming staff and is posted from a syndicated feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here