In Bihar, numbers show slim margin in NDA victory


According to the final results, in the NDA bloc, the BJP won 74 seats, garnering 82.01,298 votes.

New Delhi:

Only 84,900 votes had helped Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar win a fourth consecutive term, according to Election Commission data a day after the vote count in the recent Assembly of the Assembly election. State. The overall difference in votes polled by the ruling NDA and the opposition alliance of Rashtriya Janata Dal, Congress and the Left was only 0.2%, the data showed.

According to the final results, in the NDA bloc, the BJP won 74 seats, garnering 82.01,298 votes.

Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United – who delivered an unprecedented dismal performance, ceding the big brother position to the BJP ally after winning just 43 seats – garnered 64,84,414 votes.

Former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi’s HAM, which won four seats in its political debut, won 3,755,564 votes.

Mukesh Sahni’s VIP got 6,39,342 votes.

In the opposition Grand Alliance, Congress, whose tally went from 27 seats in 2015 to 19 seats, garnered 39.94,912 votes.

Rashtriya Janata Dal, which became the party with the most seats with 75 seats, received 96.63,584 votes.

CPI-ML – the marginalized left bloc party that won 11 seats – won 12,50,869 votes.

The CPI polled 3.49,489 votes for the two seats they won and the CPM – 3.56,855 for their three seats.


The overall difference was around 84,900 votes, a slim margin corresponding to most state results. Overall, the ruling NDA won 125 seats – against 110 seats in the opposition alliance.

The result was announced Wednesday at 4 a.m. after almost 20 hours of exciting counting.

Late in the evening, as the RJD fell behind the BJP after several ups and downs, the party claimed the opposition alliance had won 119 seats.

Posting a list on Twitter, the party claimed the winners were being denied their certificates by a conspiracy by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his administration to put pressure on the electoral commission.

In response, the commission, during a late-night briefing, said that when RJD’s request was tweeted, only 146 results were reported, indicating the alliance’s claim was not feasible.

This morning, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar – who won a fourth consecutive term thanks to the BJP’s largesse – tweeted his thanks to the people and his gratitude to Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“The people decide. I bow to them for giving the majority to the NDA. I am also grateful for the support of PM Modi,” Mr. Kumar tweeted.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here