Election to Bihar Assembly: Shiv Sena to contest around 50 seats, Uddhav and Aaditya Thackeray will campaign: Anil Desai


The Shiv Sena on Thursday released a list of 22 leaders who will campaign in Bihar.


The Shiv Sena will contest around 50 seats in the upcoming Bihar Assembly polls, party MP Anil Desai said on Sunday.

Speaking to the PTI, Desai said the Shiv Sena had no alliance with any party for the polls in the eastern state.

“The Shiv Sena is vying for around 50 seats. We have presented our candidates in constituencies where our cadres are involved in public works, ”said member Rajya Sabha.

He also said that the symbol for the election of the Shiv Sena for the polls in Bihar will be a “man blowing the tura” (trumpet).

The Election Commission previously banned the Shiv Sena from using its “bow and arrow” party symbol in Bihar Assembly polls on the similarity to the “arrow” symbol of JD (U).

Asked about Maharashtra’s chief minister and Shiv Sena chairman Uddhav Thackeray’s schedule to campaign in Bihar, Desai said details would be provided by the party and the CM himself.

The Shiv Sena on Thursday released a list of 22 leaders who will campaign in Bihar.

Besides Uddhav Thackeray, his son and Maharashtra tourism minister Aaditya Thackeray is also on the list of activists.

Other Sena leaders reportedly campaigning in Bihar are Subhash Desai, Sanjay Raut, Anil Desai, Vinayak Raut, Arvind Sawant, Priyanka Chaturvedi, Rahul Shewale and Krupal Tumane.

Elections for the Bihar Assembly, made up of 243 members, will be held in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7, and the counting of votes will take place on November 10.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here