2020 Bihar election result days after NDA wins Bihar, key meeting today to elect leader


The NDA announced Nitish Kumar as its top cabinet candidate ahead of the election (File)

Patna (Bihar):

The decision on whether Nitish Kumar would get another term as chief minister of Bihar can be made today at a meeting of lawmakers from the National Democratic Alliance, which won majority seats in the recently concluded polls. .

The meeting comes days after BJP-Janata Dal United (JDU) claimed a majority in the Bihar assembly, and Mr. Kumar resigned Governor Phagu Chauhan.

“Things will be discussed in detail (at the party’s legislature meeting) and all decisions will be made at that time,” Kumar told reporters after a meeting of NDA leaders at his residence on Friday. . This was the first such meeting after the announcement of the results of the elections in Bihar on November 10.

Despite assurances from the BJP before and after the poll that Nitish Kumar will retain the post of chief minister, there is speculation about his re-election for a fourth term as the JDU could only win 43 seats with a share of the vote falling to 15%. .

The NDA emerged as the winning alliance in Bihar polls with 125 seats – 2 more than the House majority at 243 members – but 73 were drawn to the BJP, elevating the once junior partner to the ” big Brother”.

The figures are seen as a warrant for the ruling alliance, but against Mr Kumar as chief minister.

Critics have also suggested that the BJP tacitly supported the exit of ally-turned-rival Chirag Paswan to undermine Mr. Kumar’s position within the alliance in the state.

Mr. Paswan had only fielded candidates against Mr. Kumar, who could only win one seat in the election, but hijacked more than 5% of the JDU vote from Mr. Kumar, which hurt him badly . Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s silence on Chirag Paswan’s often personal attacks on Mr. Kumar has also raised eyebrows.

Questions are also being raised as to whether Mr. Paswan would continue to be part of the ruling pool in Bihar, with Nitish Kumar saying he left the decision to the BJP.

Tejashwi Yadav also attacked Mr Kumar on Thursday, claiming his RJD party was the winner in the election as the chief minister and prime minister could not prevent him from becoming the largest party with 75 seats.

“See where the glow of Nitish Kumar has gone. He has been pushed to the third position. It is a mandate for change. Nitish Kumar is sitting in the chair of the Chief Minister, but we are in the hearts of the people,” did he declare.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here